2020 teaching team

Ramia Mazé

Ramia Mazé has been part of the DfG teaching team and course leader since 2015. As Professor of New Frontiers in Design at Aalto University, she specializes in the critical and participatory design of systems, services and products that alter social practices and public life. Previously, Sweden, she worked at Konstfack University College, at KTH Royal Institute of Technology, and at the national PhD school Designfakulteten. She has led several major interdisciplinary and international research projects and has worked as a professional designer in the EU and US. https://people.aalto.fi/ramia_mazeramia.maze@aalto.fi

Taneli Heinonen

Taneli Heinonen has been part of the DfG teaching team since 2015. He is an independent consultant helping clients understand people as social and cultural beings instead of mere numbers on a spreadsheet. He also teaches methods of service design and ethnographic customer insights in Laurea University of Applied Sciences. He’s previously worked for a strategy consultancy Gemic and a service design agency Diagonal (currently known as Hellon). Taneli believes in the integration of rigorously built insights and persistent creative work.

Núria Solsona

Núria Solsona has been part of the DfG teaching team since 2019. She is an Associate Professor at Aalto University and an independent consultant in service design. She combines a background in Graphic Design (BA) and Innovation Management (MA). At Aalto Núria teaches the practice of service design for BA and MA levels. Previously she worked as a service design consultant at the Livework studio in London. Clients included BBC, Kone, London Underground, Nordea, and Government of Thailand. Nuria also collaborates regularly as a lecturer and executive coach at the ESADE business school in Barcelona and CIID in Copenhagen.

Eeva Lehto

Eeva Lehto is a teaching assistant for DfG in 2019, alumni of DfG from 2017, and an MA Collaborative and Industrial Design student at Aalto University. She has a background in design management studies and is interested in design briefing. In her Master’s thesis, she has studied how public-sector organizations in Finland procure service design expertise. eeva.j.lehto@aalto.fi

Previous and occasional teachers

Idil Gaziulusoy

Idil is a visiting lecturer in DfG on the topic of systems thinking and change. She is Professor of Sustainable Design at the Department of Design, Aalto University, and a pioneer in the emerging area of design for sustainability transitions. https://people.aalto.fi/idil.gaziulusoy

Hella Hernberg

Hella has been a core teacher of DfG between 2014-2018. She is an architect and designer who runs Urban Dream Management, a strategic design practice striving towards creative and sustainable cities. She is currently pursuing doctoral studies at Aalto University‘s Department of Design.

Juha Kronqvist

Juha has been a core teacher of DfG between 2014-2017. He is a senior service designer at Hellon, and he frequently gives lectures at Aalto Universitywww.juhakronqvist.fi

Seungho Lee

Seungho Lee was a teacher in DfG from 2014-2019. While he was a designer and researcher residing in Helsinki, he initiated the Design for Government course. As a designer, he worked for the strategic design unit at the Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra and as an associate for the nordic think tank Demos Helsinki. He is currently completing his doctoral studies at Aalto Universitywww.seungholee.com

Anni Leppänen

Anni Leppänen is part of the DfG support team and alumni of DfG 2015. Anni has been working as a strategic designer in Finnish government digital transformation at D9 team and Tax Administration, now she works at the City of Helsinki.  https://twitter.com/annilepp

Tania Rodriguez

Tania Rodriguez is a visiting lecturer on the DfG course. She is a part of Aalto University‘s Visual Communication Design doctoral research group. Her research focuses on second language learning through design methods to foster independent and sustainable learning. tania.rodriguez@aalto.fi


Riina Ruus-Prato, teaching assistant 2019

Petra Leino, teaching assistant 2018

Emma Berg, teaching assistant 2017

Paula Karlsson, teaching assistant 2016